The Angelic Grace



Its about time…

Yes, its about time I write something on this blog of mine. I don’t want to be wasting space in this cyber world just because I didn’t have the mood to or the time to record my life and emotions on this weblog.

The past few months have gone by so quickly. I started and finished my dissertation; received my results which I am very pleased with; went to Barcelona for the second time and came back; applied for a zillion jobs and finally got an offer to work part time as a sales assistant in John Lewis to which I am very proud of; went to Cardiff, Bristol, Newport, Gloucester, Cambridge and Bicester with Vinz for work and pleasure; visited beautiful beautiful Salzburg and Vienna last week and now…I am thoroughly enjoying my sales assistant job selling iPods, Creative Zens and PURE radios ๐Ÿ™‚

You know…I had a friend telling me that being a sales assistant is a lowly job. Why take it?

I seriously, honestly, from the bottom most of my heart beg to differ.

My near 2 months as a ”lowly sales assistant” in John Lewis has been a tremendous experience for me. I LOVE MY JOB! When I wake up every morning, my heart races as I really want to shout to the world that I am a Partner in John Lewis and I LOVE MY JOB! I utterly love sharing conversations with my customers; asking them about their day and what they want their product for, where they want to place it and whether they have any difficulties handling it due to the small buttons and tiny screen. I learnt so much in the store that staying at home and surfing the internet would not have taught me. I learnt how to communicate with my colleagues, customers and managers. I learnt how to close a sale. I learnt how to build relationships with my customers so well that a customer came in the shop on the day I wasn’t working and only wanted to talk to ”the Chinese girl with an American twang”.

I feel immense satisfaction everytime I close a sale even though I don’t receive any commission for the products I sell. I just LOVE my job!!

Maybe I should just become a sales assistant for the rest of my life then ๐Ÿ˜›

But mummy says…

”No, girl. You like your job so much because you like to communicate with people. You like to be in the world out there and sharing your thoughts and ideas with people. That is why you like your job so much. Don’t say you like selling. You like communicating.”

I think mummy is right. I like communicating. That is why now I want a job in Corporate Communications or Corporate Affairs. I don’t want to go into boring accounting no matter how prestigious that sounds. I absolutely don’t want to go into law as I don’t like researching and fighting. I want to go into Corporate Communications! I have never felt so passionate about a career path before till I started working with John Lewis. God must have been on my side as He led me to this job and opened an opportunity window for me ๐Ÿ™‚

God has also finally opened Vinz’s eyes and ears. He has decided to return to Malaysia with for good come January. It was a tough decision for him but nevertheless, God guided us through it and I am very pleased.


Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Sami says:

    hi mom =)

    | Reply Posted 13 years, 10 months ago
  2. This blog receives the OFFICIAL Capโ€™n Shrimpstain Seal of Approval! Click https://twitter.com/moooker1

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 1 month ago


Leave a comment